50 Years old and still learning to speak!

September 21, 2006

Artificial Intelligence is one of my favorite areas of interest. There’s something about this field that pulls me towards it. Its a pity that I couldn’t do more in this field because every time I had to weigh my options and there is not much being done in this field here in Pakistan to encourage me to pursue it.

Its been 50 years since the birth of this field and we are yet to see something worth mentioning done in this field. There is a lot effort being put in just to pass the Turing test but still all we have is AI programs like Joan. The aim of AI is much more than just learning to speak like humans. This article that I came across today gives quite a good reason why. It also lists some really good accomplishments that AI people can look back and feel proud about. Still there is much to be done and much to be learned specially about the design of human brain and the process of thinking.

Leave a comment